[Resolved] Rotary encoder not working

[Resolved] Rotary encoder not working

Postby CRNorris » Sun Oct 16, 2016 5:54 pm

Hi,

I'm building an FG805 from a kit.

I've got as far as turning it on for the first time to check it's working. All the buttons are working, the screen works, it all seems ok, except that the rotary encoder isn't doing anything.

It doesn't have any effect if I turn it or press it.

What can I do about this? I don't think I can use this device for anything at the moment.

Thanks!
Last edited by CRNorris on Wed Oct 19, 2016 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CRNorris
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 5:06 pm

Re: Rotary encoder not working

Postby CRNorris » Tue Oct 18, 2016 8:01 pm

I guess I'll return it then
CRNorris
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 5:06 pm

Re: Rotary encoder not working

Postby jye1 » Wed Oct 19, 2016 2:59 am

Can you check the soldering of diode D9 (please see attachment for circled component)? It might be open.


085G_D9.jpg
jye1
 
Posts: 1221
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:58 pm

Re: Rotary encoder not working

Postby CRNorris » Wed Oct 19, 2016 8:01 pm

Thanks very much for replying, I hadn't returned it just yet.

That diode was gone! Looks like it fell off.

I replaced it with the only diode I had spare, which was quite a bit bigger. The unit seems to be working fine now.

Image
CRNorris
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 5:06 pm

Re: [Resolved] Rotary encoder not working

Postby jye1 » Thu Oct 20, 2016 2:28 am

Sorry to know that the diode was gone. Please contact JYE Tech at jyetech@163.com. We'll be happy to mail you a SMD diode so that it can be fixed properly. There is no charge for the replacement.
jye1
 
Posts: 1221
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:58 pm


Return to FG085

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest